## Departments and Divisions of the College

Emory & Henry has twenty-seven academic departments and programs which are the primary academic units of the college. The departments are grouped into five academic divisions (Humanities, Visual & Performing Arts, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and Education) and academic schools (Health Sciences, Nursing, and Business). Certain parts of Emory & Henry's academic program, especially the general requirements, correspond to the divisional structure. Following are the primary departments and programs listed by division or school.

Education Division: Education, Health & Human Performance.

Humanities Division: English, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages.

Social Science Division: Civic Innovation, Economics, Geography & Earth & Environmental Sciences, History, Media and Communication, Politics and International Studies and Law, Sociology.

Natural Science Division: Biology, Computer Science, Chemistry, Physics and Engineering Science, Equine Studies, Mathematics, Psychology.

Visual & Performing Arts Division: Art, Music, Theatre.

School of Health Sciences: Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Exercise Science, Occupational Therapy, Physician Assistant Studies.

School of Nursing: Nursing

School of Business: Business Administration, Accounting

In addition to these primary programs, there are several courses of study which fit into special categories. **Interdisciplinary programs** include Environmental Studies; Philosophy, Political Science, and Economics; and International and Area Studies. **Service areas** are fields in which the college does not offer a major, but it offers individual courses which may form part of a contextual and support area or a minor, or which may be taken as electives.